Task Force appointed for Poverty Eradication

Task Force appointed for Poverty Eradication

(FASTNEWS | COLOMBO) – President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has appointed a Task Force for Poverty Eradication and Livelihood Development through the issuance of an Extraordinary Gazette.

The 12-member Task Force will be chaired by former Deputy Secretary to the Treasury SB Divarathne.

The Committee has been instructed to deliberate 13 areas of concerns, and compile a report within a period of one year.

It is tasked with the implementation of programmes for supply of essential food items in order to ensure the food security, mobilizing local suppliers in supplying foods and other commodities at concessionary prices through a retail network, formulating sustainable livelihood programmes for identified families and also coordinating with the Ministry of Finance, Regional Development Bank, and Micro–Finance Institutions in providing financial facilities for the needy and low income earning communities prioritizing small-scale business entities.