Names of 19 national list MPs gazetted

Names of 19 national list MPs gazetted

(FASTNEWS | COLOMBO) – The Gazette Notification containing the names of members who will represent the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, Illankai Tamil Arasu Kachchi and Akila Ilankai Thamil Congress through the National List in the Ninth Parliament, has been issued.

The gazette notification was issued, last night, undersigned by the Chairman of the Election Commission Mahinda Deshapriya and Commission members Nalin Abeysekere and Ratnajeevan Hoole.

The SLPP obtained 17 National List seats while the ITAK and the AITC claimed a MP post each in the ninth Parliament. Candidates who were defeated at the General Election have not been named through the National List of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna.

Accordingly, GL Pieris, Sagara Kariyawasam, Ajith Nivard Cabraal, Ali Sabri, Jayantha Weerasinghe, Manjula Dissanayake, Ranjith Bandara, Charitha Herath, Gevindu Kumarathunga, Mohamed Musammil, Tissa Vitharana, Yadamini Gunawardhane, Surendra Ragawan, Tiran Alles, Seetha Arambepola, Jayantha Ketagoda and Mohamed Azmi were gazetted as National List representatives of the SLPP.

Thavaraja Kalai Arasan has been named as the National List MP of the ITAK while Selvarasa Gajenthiran has been named the AITC National List representative.

The United National Party, the Samagi Jana Balawegaya and the National People’s Power are yet to direct respective National List representatives to the Election Commission.

Meanwhile, when contacted by a prominent online news portal in the isle Former MP Tissa Attanayake said a final decision pertaining to the National List representatives of the SJB will be reached today.

A special discussion has been organised between members of SJB constituent parties.

Meanwhile, either Dr. Harini Amarasuriya or Bimal Ratnayake will be named as the National People’s Power’s National List representative.

A spokesman of the party when contacted by NewsRadio said a final decision is yet to be reached.